Star Assessments


All Archdiocese of Denver Catholic Schools students in grades 2 – 8 take the Reading and Math Star Assessments. 

The assessments are short tests that provide teachers with learning data. Star tests are computer adaptive, which means they adjust to each answer your child provides. This helps teachers get the best data to help your child in the shortest amount of testing time (about one-third of the time other tests take).

Assumption students take Star Assessments three times a year: fall, winter, spring. 

Assessment of Catechesis/Religious Education (ACRE) Testing

The National Catholic Educational Association publishes the ACRE test format.


The ACRE test is administered to all elementary students in 5th grade and in 8th grade in the Archdiocese of Denver.  Published by the NCEA (National Catholic Educational Association), the test is an assessment designed to strengthen catechetical/education programs.  Based on the Catechism of the Catholic Church and the most recent catechetical documents, the purpose of the ACRE is to evaluate the effectiveness of a Religion program.

Students are tested in the following 8 domains:


  • God

  • Church

  • Liturgy and Sacraments

  • Revelation, Scripture, Faith

  • Life in Christ

  • Church History

  • Prayer/Religious Practice

  • Faith Literacy


The Four Pillars are also tested:

  • Creed

  • Liturgy and Sacraments

  • Morality

  • Prayer